Pedro Sanchez reshuffles cabinet

Prime minister Pedro Sanchez has reshuffled his cabinet, calling the new executive one that will “promote economic recovery”.

With 30 months remaining until the next general election, the PSOE leader of the coalition government announced the changes in a press conference on Saturday.

Carmen Calvo is to stand down, with Nadia Calviño becoming first deputy and remaining head of economic policy. Yolanda Diaz will become second deputy leader. José Manuel Albares replaces Arancha González Laya in Foreign Affairs. Transport will move to Raquel Sánchez, replacing José Luis Ábalos. Miquel Iceta will head the Ministry of Culture in place of José Manuel Rodríguez Uribes who is to stand down.

The new ministers, who will take office next Monday and participate in their first Council of Ministers next Tuesday, are the following:

  • Minister of Justice, Pilar Llop.
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs, European Union and Cooperation, José Manuel Albares.
  • Minister of Transport, Mobility and Urban Agenda, Raquel Sánchez Jiménez.
  • Minister of Education and Vocational Training, Pilar Alegría.
  • Minister of the Presidency, Relations with the Courts and Democratic Memory, Félix Bolaños.
  • Minister of Territorial Policy and Government Spokesperson, Isabel Rodríguez Jiménez.
  • Minister of Science and Innovation, Diana Morant Ripoll.

In addition to the incorporations, Sánchez has reported other changes in the executive: Minister Miquel Iceta will become the head of the Ministry of Culture and Sports and the Minister of Finance, María Jesús Montero, will incorporate those of Public Function into her powers.

The Prime Ministers Chief of Staff – Iván Redondo – is also standing down, to be replaced by Óscar López.



Share on facebook
Share on twitter